Options

CCNA with experience or CCNP without experience?

rampagerampage Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody
need your advice again.
Currently I'm working on my network+ and also CCNA odom book .My question is having two associate level certificates like ccna r+s and ccana security with several months experience are more likely to lead a job or one CCNA r+s and CCNP R+s with zero experience?
I ask this because in my area there is almost no way to have a related job to have good hands-on experience and the only way is working on lab.I have more than two years experience related to A+ and Network + topics.
Any advice is really appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    rampage wrote: »
    My question is having two associate level certificates like ccna r+s and ccana security with several months experience are more likely to lead a job or one CCNA r+s and CCNP R+s with zero experience?
    We often discuss whether a zero-experience CCNP is a liability. While that may take it too far, I'd wager a CCNA security plus several months of experience would do more for you in the tealm of landing a good entry-level position. This assumes you have a good reference and reason for leaving the role after a few months such as a contract or internship.
    rampage wrote:
    I ask this because in my area there is almost no way to have a related job to have good hands-on experience and the only way is working on lab.
    What city is this "somewhere" you live in with no computer networks (and yet you have Internet access)?
  • Options
    We often discuss whether a zero-experience CCNP is a liability. While that may take it too far, I'd wager a CCNA security plus several months of experience would do more for you in the tealm of landing a good entry-level position. This assumes you have a good reason for leaving the role after a few months such as a contract or internship.

Thanks a lot. icon_thumright.gif