Options

A little confusion as to the requirements for SSCP

JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
Says 1 year of relevant work experience. Does someone need to verify said year? Does it have to be SECURITY related, full time for a year? Reason I ask is because I'm a helpdesk technician at my current job that is in charge of making sure servers are properly running, files get imported properly and put into a workflow for production purposes, and occasionally I have to edit items in several databases. I Was wondering if I ask to be included in the security side a little, and work in it every once in a while, if they would accept that as experience or if it needs to be full time security.

Comments

• Options
    webgeekwebgeek Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
    One year experience in one of the 7 domains....look up what each domain includes and see if your work experience qualifies.
    BS in IT: Information Assurance and Security (Capella) CISSP, GIAC GSEC, Net+, A+
  • Options
    Oh ok!
    I was being redirected to the main site for some reason and I didnt see the domains. I thought I was missing something.

Time to ask my employer if I could be included in one of the domains.
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,035 Admin
    What is your professional work experience in Information Security?
  • Options
    Zero experience. I work in a very large company as a help desk technician. The company is a part of Lexis Nexis.
  • Options
    What do you do as part of your help desk duties? Anything to do with security, such as resetting passwords, unlocking accounts, run anti-virus scans, anything to do with diagnostics or logging, etc. Just one year of security-related work experience is what you are trying to scrape up from what you do at work.
  • Options
    Ok I see your logic now.
    I update and manipulate data in multiple databases
    I unlock user accounts in the active directory, reset their passwords
    I do hourly checkups on 60+ servers