I am now a Network Engineer! :)

FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
As many of you probably know I've been working as a desktop engineer since graduating college in May of last year. Since then I have passed my Network+ and recently my CCNA. I managed to land a gig at a pretty large company to work as a network engineer recently. They were very impressed with my studies and home lab experience so they were willing to give me a shot. I am super excited about this position because everything at this company is on such a larger scale than what I am used too. For example, when I got a tour of their data center they had 2x Nexus 7010's on pallets just waiting to be opened.
I feel like I am going to learn a ton in this new position, its almost too good to be true. They are really going to help me with my CCNP studies as well by letting me setup a lab at work. I am really excited to have been given this opportunity at such a young age still! Anyone that says the certifications aren't worth it is CRAZY!!

I am however going to miss my current employer icon_sad.gif

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Congrats!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • olaHaloolaHalo Member Posts: 748 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sounds like a great gig.
    Congrats
  • Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    You did good. Congratulations. How did you land this gig if you dont mind me asking?
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Oddly enough, the employer contacted me...talk about being lucky.
  • Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
    sounds pretty awesome, congrats
    Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Congratulations! I'm hoping to make the same kind of move this year :)
  • coreyb80coreyb80 Member Posts: 647 ■■■■■□□□□□