Options

Degree Advice

silverp1silverp1 Member Posts: 124
Hi guys,
I was looking for some advice regarding my degree path. I currently hold both an A.S. in Business Administration and a B.S. in Business Administration (Management). I am looking to get some sort of IT credential (beyond certs). I've worked at a help desk now for about 6 months and I'm looking to get a strong set of credentials that will allow me to move up the network admin path.

I'm studying for my CCENT and I plan to take the CCNA after that, but besides this, I do not currently have any certifications. I have a decent history of working with computers, I tutor in C++ and Java and a good portion of my coursework for the aforementioned degrees included IT related topics (networking, system design & analysis, programming).

So, the decision I'm looking for advice on is whether or not to seek a second Bachelor's or skip that and go right for a Master's. I'm looking at the BSIT Network Admin and MSIT Network Admin at WGU. I like the BS because it will include several certifications that I don't have and, coupled with the BS its self, it sounds like the program would build up some pretty decent entry credentials. The MS looks like a good program, but I'm not sure if that is valued as much as the certs, etc. in the IT world. Are there many positions that require a Master's? Will not having one hold me back in the future? (Granted, I'm not necessarily ruling out ever pursuing a Master's level degree). Also, I'm kind of worried that the BS will cover a lot of stuff I've already done - has anybody else felt this way after they started the program?

Thanks for your input!
Certs: CCENT, CCNA:R&S
Working on: MCITP:SA
Goals: CCENT (ICND1) [Done], CCNA (ICND2) [Done], MCITP:SA

Comments

• Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    If you're going to do WGU, then I advise the MBA IT Management first, then second, the M.S. IT Network Management.