Options

Intern or Full Time position dilemma

JengonJengon Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello I was hoping for some advice or opinions on my current issue, any comments are appreciated!

I am being offered an internship and a full time position at the same time and want to make sure I pick the choice that will be best for me since I am a recent graduate. I am an MIS major and I am interested in having a technical career.

The internship I was offered is in the Information Technology department of a large company and I would be doing IT governance and communicating with several IT departments. It seems like a good way to get to know various IT jobs.

The full time position I was offered is similar to a financial analyst, also for a large company. I was drawn to this because I believed that I would be working with big data and it sounded like a good introduction into it. However, I recently learned that this position is mostly using excel and now I’m wary.

Both positions offer similar salary and I am more worried about positioning myself for a future career than I am about money.

I am hoping for a little outside perspective from technical people. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    KronesKrones Member Posts: 164
    Depends on what you want to do if money is not the issue. Sounds like your mind is already made up. Excel skills are nice to have but if you don't want to be doing vlookups, pivot tables, etc for the majority of your day it sounds like the other job is the winner. If you do want to work with SQL Server and become a DBA later down the road, the finance analyst might be the way to go but no guarantees and if you are validating data in Excel all day....
    WGU - Security
    Current: Start date Sept 1. Remaining:
    CUV1, BOV1, CJV1, CVV1, KET1, KFT1, DFV1, TPV1, BNC1, RIT1, DHV1, CSV1, COV1, CQV1, CNV1, SBT1, RGT1 Completed: