Options

Failed CCNA Security/ changing gears and vendors

flt0nujrflt0nujr Member Posts: 65 ■■■□□□□□□□
Failed the 640-554 today. I scored 794 and needed an 804 to pass. Surprisingly, I'm not really bummed about it. I studied for 3 weeks and I almost passed it. I am disappointed with the exam having GUI based exam questions since most configs are done from cli. I've done firewalls, Nat's, even some vpn. I don't want to waste my time going through the ccnp security gauntlet if I'm already doing some of the work. Plus were bringing in Juniper into our office. It's time to put ccnp security on the back burner and bite into juniper and checkpoint. Here's my map of this year's goals.

JNCIA--have junospere and cook books
JNCIS-FWW
CCSA--have materials already
CCNP R/S---I think this is more valuable. But will get later on
B.S Information Technology Telecommunications
A.S Network Server Administration
M.S Information Security Management (expected 2014-2015)

Comments

• Options
    RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    Honestly, if I were you I would give it one more shot next week. You just barely missed it and now having sat the exam, you know now exactly what to expect as far as these GUI based questions.

I really think you should resit it
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the
    traffic flows in your network while you were half asleep, could you do it?
  • Options
    QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488
    Failed it my first time as well. Don't be like me and wait an entire year to re-take it. Finish strong.
  • Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I would try one more time because you are so close!
  • Options
    wintermute000wintermute000 Banned Posts: 172
    Your logic doesn't make sense. What if you fail your Juniper or Checkpoint exams? See it through! Best of luck.
  • Options