Options

USB to Serial/Console Cable???

M-Ant78M-Ant78 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Genuine Newbie here so please help me make sense of what exact cable is needed to go from my laptop into my C2950 console port to start familiarizing myself w/Cisco's IOS. The guy @ BestBuy didn't have a clue what I was talking about (same boat as me), and at Frye's all he said is what I needed they didn't have. Is it a cable with a serial port on one end & RJ 45 on the other? I am confused as to what exactly is plugged into my laptop...USB or serial, because this laptop does not have a serial port, but it has a USB. This is probably a "Every-Blue-Moon" question on this forum, but everyone has to start somewhere. I welcome all links to purchase the exact cord online. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    JeanMJeanM Member Posts: 1,117
    If you laptop/pc has a serial port, then you don't need a usb-to-serial adapter. If you only have USB, then you need a USB on one end and Serial on another, you'll then be able to connect the cisco console cable (db9 serial on one and end rj45 connector on another).

I got mine from amazon
    2015 goals - ccna voice / vmware vcp.
  • Options
    Thanks Jean! I appreciate it.
  • Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    ya, youre going to need a USB to Serial adapter. After you install that, then you can attach a Console Cable to the Serial end of the adapter and the rj-45 end to the console port of your switch. Then you can open use a program like Putty to open a session with your switch and start plugging in commands!
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    ya, youre going to need a USB to Serial adapter. After you install that, then you can attach a Console Cable to the Serial end of the adapter and the rj-45 end to the console port of your switch. Then you can open use a program like Putty to open a session with your switch and start plugging in commands!