Options

Interview with networking Lab...Failed!

ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hey Guys,

So I had an interview today...for a Network Engineer job that was presented to me 2 days ago. I wasn't told about the face to face interview until yesterday.

Interview went well!

Lab went horrible!icon_rolleyes.gif

I couldn't even remember how to set a created Vlan to the default Vlan.
I couldn't remember how to set OSPF Area
Couldn't remember the command for enabling SSH on the VTY lines.. but I did remember halfway through Transport Input SSH

The only things I was able to do was rename the 2 routers and 1 switch to the given name... create vlan's.. enable OSPF, set console password... Anything that required me to have line up protocol up I forgot...(I didn't forget what causes this, just couldn't remember the commands to get myself to where I needed to be)

I was so disappointed And not even in the fact that I forgot half the stuff I studied so hard for... But in the fact that I was thinking this is what I am suppose to be doing.. Not installing Office 2010 for users. Not adding a printer to their machine... or rebooting the Ecopy Server, or setting up yet another laptop for XP-7 migration. I just felt really disappointed knowing that all of the questions they gave to me would have been done in 10 minutes back when i was in the swing of my CCNA studying... and Now.. 9 months later.. I can barely remember how to use switchport vlan access...

I guess all I can say is if you want to be a real Networking Network Engineer... then keep the information fresh.... I've been busy learning SCCM, and keeping my AD knowledge, Server Knowledge, Windows 7 troubleshooting knowledge
that, the CCNA stuff, the stuff that I really really want to do has wilted. Oh wellicon_study.gif guess I'll have to find the time between the 1000 other things I do a day to get my Cisco skills back up to par...never know when that next shot will come!icon_cool.gif

Comments

• Options