Options

Landing my first I.T Job, With 6 Months Help Desk/ Tech Support experience

WilliamWrightWilliamWright Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently a freshman in College, I have 6 months of I.T experience at the Chicago History Museum. The Director of Information technology gave me a letter of recommendation and i feel pretty confident about getting a Job after I get my A+ Certification. I take my first test in 2 weeks.

My goal is to get a bachelors in Computer engineering but that will be a while from now. Whats the realities of me landing an entry level help desk or any entry level in I.T with My Cert, Letter Of recommendation, and my internship experience of 6 months?
Should I even try???

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yes of course. 6 months is more than zero and a good recommendation and the A+ are a great start. Only problem might be finding something that works around your school schedule if that is even an issue.
  • Options
    MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What type of position are you looking for?
  • Options
    Help desk or tech support. Entry level.
  • Options
    Bump! I'm looking for anything entry level, Help-desk, Tech Support or anything else dealing with entry tech. I'm currently a restaurant worker, But I've been repaired family and friends computers for years. I've gain references from my internship which will be great, also my family and friends could possibly be listed as people who I have done tech work for.

My School schedule will be difficult ofcourse but I figured I'll do night classes.
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    6 mo. of experience, an A+ certification, and you're in college? Your chances of finding an entry-level IT job are pretty good provided you can find one that fits your schedule. Consider looking at your college itself.

A job as a waiter is not bad as it can improve your people skills.
  • Options