Options

Confused about Switch, what do I need??

razarrazar Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

So I'm just starting out studying for switch. First off going to be reading the "How to master Switch" book, a lab with 3 switches is used here. However I've read from a few other people that 4 switches is recommended.

I'm in a position at work at the moment where I work on 3750s and 6500s so i'm not unfamiliar with working with real hardware, just want to try and find out what i'll need for this exam.

If I purchase a couple of 2950s and 3550s would I also be able to make use of these for TSHOOT and possibly CCIE? Or will they have no use for that? I don't have that much space in my home but could just about get away with 4 switches but not much more than that.

Am I better of going the rack rental route via a site like INE?

Also if I do purchase some switches has anyone had much success with using them with GNS3 to combine routers? Or is that just too fiddly?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    d6bmgd6bmg Member Posts: 242 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Couple of 3950 & 3550s would be more than enough for CCNP Switch & Tshoot.
    Although I won't comment about CCIE as I've no idea.
    [ ]CCDA; [ ] CCNA Security
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Am I better of going the rack rental route via a site like INE?
    This is a simple cost calculation that depends on the number of hours you need. Estimate your needs and then run the numbers. I paid $30 for 20 hours of access to (2) 2950s and (2) 3550s. This was faster, cheaper, and "less fiddly" than buying. It's worth noting I also had to spend a couple hours searching to find such favorable rack rental rates.
    razar wrote: »
    If I purchase a couple of 2950s and 3550s would I also be able to make use of these for TSHOOT and possibly CCIE?