Options

Studying for CCNA

taltal13taltal13 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

My name is Tal. I'm 34 years old, live in NYC (Brooklyn to be exact). I have been a Real Estate broker for the last 8 years. I've done ok for myself but I'm just over the working for commissions and have decided to enter the exciting world of networking. icon_lol.gif

Since I've started studying I'm already getting excited not only about working but how I would network, my home and possibly any RE investments I make in the future. (I'm keeping my broker license as I occasionally have referrals - and can always take them out nights/weekends). I think wiring homes and getting them network ready can be a nice selling point. Non techies will appreciate the fact that they are "Internet Ready" while the Geeks will be glad they have something to start out with.

I'm using CBT nuggets at the moment and will open Lammle's book soon too. I'm doing a port security nugget now and I will gladly start a new topic if I shouldn't post in my intro but here goes:
I'm on Packet Tracer (don't have real gear yet, working on that) was able to switchport port-security MAX, VIOLATION & MAC(stick) for one port FA 0/1 successfuly.

I then wanted to try to do that for a whole range, so then I exited and did this:
BSMT_SW2(config)#interface range fa 0/2-4
BSMT_SW2(config-if-range)#switchport mode access
BSMT_SW2(config-if-range)#switchport ?
access Set access mode characteristics of the interface
mode Set trunking mode of the interface
native Set trunking native characteristics when interface is in
trunking mode
nonegotiate Device will not engage in negotiation protocol on this interface
trunk Set trunking characteristics of the interface
voice Voice appliance attributes
<cr>
So as you can see there's no "port-security" option.

Am I not able to configure port-security for a range of ports if I want them all to do the same thing, namely "Sticky" the connecting MAC addresses?

And if not, why not?

Thanks!