Options

Renewing CCNP

HeeroHeero Member Posts: 486
So I have to renew my CCNP within the next ~60 days. At the time being I am not interested in investing time in learning new content for a different professional level test...I just want to stick with taking and passing on of the CCNP RS exams. I need suggestions on which exam is the easiest to pass, and what study materials would be best for someone that has already learned most of the content at one point and is mostly just looking for materials that are good refreshers.

Comments

• Options
    iamme4evaiamme4eva Member Posts: 272
    It's down to you really. Personally I found Route better than Switch, but that's because I find it more interesting. Depends which you prefer, which you are more comfortable with, and which is most applicable to your job.

I personally would do TSHOOT. But then I'm a systems support engineer and I troubleshoot networks most days.

It's entirely down to whatever you are most comfortable with. They are all tough exams.
    Current objective: CCNA Security
    My blog: mybraindump.co.uk
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I need suggestions on which exam is the easiest to pass,
    The easiest exam is whatever you've been working with lately. Personally, I found TSHOOT the easiest, SWITCH the middle, and ROUTE the hardest. However, the reasoning behind that is simple: (1) Prior to taking TSHOOT, I studied ROUTE and SWITCH, and TSHOOT is like a review of both. (2) Prior to taking ROUTE and SWITCH, my job duties had been more focused on switching.

If you took the typical progression--earned your CCNA, worked for a year, earned your CCNP, was promoted to a more advanced / lucrative role--you should be using at least some of these skills on a daily basis and that should be your guide. :)