So Many Questions.

newbee23newbee23 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys I am new to forums so pardon me if I am doing this totally wrong. Well currently I am studying part 4 of the CCNA. I am trying to get certified before the deadline coming up in September I believe, the problem is really do not know where to go from there. I am trying to get my Associates degree in applied science by the end of the 2014 spring semester. I want to know if I should keep going and try to get my CCNP or if I should get my CCNA cert and take supporting classes and try to get a job. I also want to know what you guys think about the difficulty of the CCNP classes or exams depending on how you are studying for them. I have zero experience working in the field. Although my college has what I think is a great lab for CCNA practice.

Comments

• boobobobobobboobobobobob Member Posts: 118
    Are you getting your degree or stopping at the associates? The post was a bit unclear. But you should get your degree that should be your #1 goal. I personally think you should get work experience before taking on the CCNP test.
  • JoeBirdsJoeBirds Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Honestly, I think you should really focus on your CCNA first. The test is not easy and should not be looked past. Cisco recommends at least 2-3 years of hardcore networking experience before you tackle the CCNP and they create the test based upon that recommendation. So to answer your question, yes, the CCNP is very difficult. It's composed of 3 tests, not one, that drill on Routing, Switching, and Troubleshooting.
  • NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Since neither an associate's nor a zero-experience CCNP provide a good ROI, I would focus on either a B.S. degree or a CCNA plus experience. Those both offer a much higher ROI per hours/dollar of effort invested.
    The CCNP certification is appropriate for those with at least one year of networking experience