Graduate needing CCNA advice!

LMH89LMH89 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the TechExams.net forum and I'm hoping someone could please advise me on the CCNA exam. As noted in the thread title I have recently graduated from University (I'm in the UK) and one of the modules allowed me to join the Cisco Network Academy where I completed the 4 semesters over the 3 years and passed them all.

I'm now at the point where I'm highly interested in gaining the CCNA Certification but I am unsure as to what the next step is and I need some clarification as to whether I have the right idea, I know there is the option of taking the 1 or 2 exam route and personally I would prefer to do the 2 exams based on what I have read so far.

Now do I have the right idea in that it will be the CCNA: Routing and Switching exam? I've noticed that they have CCNA Wireless, VOIP and Security for example so I'm finding it to be a lot of information to take in!

Also, in order to prepare for the exam I have Packet Tracer and I think I may be able to access the real hardware at University depending on whether they let me. :) And in regards to books, is the Todd Lammle Study Guide sufficient or do you recommend anything else? Based on the sticky threads I have read I think I have enough but any advice is appreciated!

I'm hoping its a case of refreshing my mind with all of the content rather than having to relearn everything. WAN technologies is probably my biggest weakness!

I apologise for sounding like a complete Cisco beginner but with so many Cisco certifications available I'm a little confused. icon_surprised.gif

Thank you for your help!

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    ow do I have the right idea in that it will be the CCNA: Routing and Switching exam?
    That's the most common starting point, and probably aligns best with your previous studies.