Having issues studying

sincere11105sincere11105 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all. I'm studying for CCNET using Odoms book. I get most of the material. After in done, I will outline key topics and go through the DVD. The problem that I have is that I will read it today and get it. Then I'll forget the process later on or tomorrow. Does anyone have any tips?

Comments

• krjaykrjay Member Posts: 290
    Just takes time and persistence. I found the early parts of CCENT to be very broad and left me asking myself a lot of questions. THe further you get into it, the more questions get answered and that helps drive home the information.
    2014 Certification Goals: 70-410 [ ] CCNA:S [ ] Linux+ [ ]
  • bbarrickbbarrick Member Posts: 242 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Pretty typical I think. I retain certain things, but can't remember others. For instance, I ran across the term connection(less) oriented protocols yesterday and for the life of me couldn't think of what it meant. So I stopped, looked it up in the back of the book and read up on it again. Just keep writing down the key topics, watch the videos, take the practice tests you will retain more than you realize.

Also, each day before you start studying something new, skim over the previous days readings/notes before you move on. I started reading the 100-101 book a month ago and I'm just now halfway through it. When I'm done I will probably skim back over it again and reread things I don't remember.

Study to learn, not to pass the test. There is a difference.
  • SouljackerSouljacker Member Posts: 112 ■■■□□□□□□□
    In Odom's book, he tends to sum up the basic idea at the start of a section\paragraph and then dives into a more detailed explanation. Highlight this initial information, and continue reading. When you do your next chapter's reading, brush through the highlighted portions to freshen the information in your mind.