Options

Western Governors University vs Dakota State University: MS Information Assurance

Hey guys,

I'm new to the site. A bit about me, I'm currently employed as a Desktop Support/Network Administrator for a community bank. I hold the CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, and Server+ certifications as well as the 70-270. I'm currently studying for the MCSA 2012 exams and I will be attending a CCNA bootcamp in November for about $1,500 (includes materials and exam fees but does not cover hotel stay or food). I have an AAS from ITT Technical Institute (I regret that decision because of the cost but it did land me my current job), two certificates from the local community college in Microsoft Networking and Information Security, and I'm currently pursuing a BS in Business Information Systems with Indiana Wesleyan University.

I had been taking classes at the local community college after graduating from ITT Technical Institute (they accepted my ITT credits). I was told that if I received an AAS from the community college, I would be eligible to participate in the two plus two program and transfer to a 4 year school in the state to complete my BS. I was a semester away from receiving an AAS from the community college and sent my transcript out to a couple of the state schools but I was disappointed when I was informed that they would not accept the ITT credits and only my community college credits (I understand the reason for this, and the difference between national and regional accreditation but it was still very frustrating). I came across IWU and I was able to transfer in with over 90 credit hours. It's an accelerated program which allows me to get my BS in 2 years. I started the program a little over a year ago and have been somewhat satisfied with the program. I will graduate in April.