Options

Need Advise, CCNA R&S or Voice

Paulchester83Paulchester83 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

As the title says I'm in a bit of a dilemma..

First of all a bit about myself, I live in the UK, I'm a telecomms engineer by trade and was trained by the British Army in the Royal Signals. When I left the army I changed career paths and have been out of the telecoms trade for 6 years now but desperately want to return to it.

I have a lot of experience from the army with a variety of equipment. However I'm aware that I've been out the trade for a while and decided to pursue a few cisco certs. I recently gained CCENT cert and that brings me to my dilemma... I have a strong interest in VOIP, and with the CCNA exams being changed it is possible now for me to take my pick of CCNA exams. Now then I don't have a lot of money to fund me so I'm self studying and seem to be getting along ok. I want to do CCNA Voice so I'm currently studying R&S topics from CCNA so that I can move on to the voice side of things with a good base knowledge and hopefully take and pass the exam giving me the CCNA Voice cert.

do you think that having the CCNA voice cert and not the R&S will affect my chances of getting employed? Is it necessary for me to take the exam in R&S before voice as I don't want to spend more money on an exam I probably won't use considering I'm looking for a role in VoIP. (Yes I know VoIP is ran on R&S networks but work with me!) I really don't know what is best to do....

any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    I think you should definitely get both of them. People will expect voice professionals to have a solid understanding of R&S and it will improve your market value, no doubt.