Options

Need Some Help With CV

EildorEildor Member Posts: 444
I have CCNA, CCNP and I intend on going for CCNA Security shortly. I also have a 1st class degree. As far as experience goes I do some volunteering, but it's trivial stuff not worth mentioning... so let's say I have no experience. I'll be going for jobs that are more or less purely network related junior/trainee/1st line.

I'm wondering how I should write my CV. I'm considering leaving out CCNP as I'm rusty on so many topics. What I was thinking of doing is listing everything from CCNA:R&S and CCNA:S. So have a section like:

CCNA:R&S and CCNA:S level knowledge of: RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, STP, VLSM, VPN, ZBFW, IPS/IDS, AAA... etc.

I haven't really written a CV before so I'm not exactly sure if the above is acceptable... I don't want to make myself sound better than I am.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Cheers.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Yeah leave out the CCNP for now, you may come across as a paper tiger if people see that CCNP without real experience to back it up. Not saying you've dumped it, but people are inclined to think that way. Perhaps have a Technical Skills section instead of a section having what you say, it'll fill up space and might just be more effective considering you're light on real experience. Good luck!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options