Networking, security, or systems?

lawrence_of_arabialawrence_of_arabia Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Well, I may not get any feedback here, but let's give it the ol' college try.. I'm pretty new to IT (almost 2 years experience). I worked on a gov't contract for a while doing help desk and just recently snagged a job as a systems admin at a smaller company. The experience I am getting here is wonderful (which is good, because the compensation could be better). The problem is that I am REALLY starting to feel like I need to work toward a specific career path, but I truly enjoying doing all of it- Windows, Linux, routing, switching, security, project planning, and even aspects of IT management seem interesting. I'd love to hear about some paths within IT that people chose to take and why. I have always heard that it's best to pick something specific and own it. BTW, I'm a huge fan of money!

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Your first vendor certification(s) will only involve a month or three of part-time study, so if you end up changing course, little ventured little gained. If you end up going in another direction, you will just be a bit more well-rounded than your colleagues. You can even sell that, to a degree. I would put more care into your choice of intermediate certifications.
  • docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Is there something specific that inspires you? An image in your mind? The ecosystems of systems or networks or voice or storage or ...?

It's fun to be a generalist too since you get to see the entirety of the playing field, although you end up with less depth than those who concentrate on one or two areas. What's your real motivator?
    Hopefully-useful stuff I've written: http://kimiushida.com/bitsandpieces/articles/
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'm a huge fan of money!