Options

Passed ICND2!...

pamccabepamccabe Member Posts: 315 ■■■□□□□□□□
Well, I am glad I didn't reschedule, I manned up and took the exam earlier today. Back in January, I decided that my goal would be to have the CCENT by June, and CCNA by September. I'm also a full-time student so this would be along side my school studies. I knew it was going to be a lot of work but it would be worth it. I passed the ICND1 in April, and just passed the ICND2 today with a score of 888. I feel great after having accomplished my personal goals. As with the ICND1, I walked out of the testing facility feeling incredible, but I also have a feeling like I do not deserve it. lol I know I passed, but I don't feel like an expert. As with the ICND1, I found that everytime I learned something, it would open 10 more doors of things I didn't know. I guess that is a good thing and why I find networking so interesting.

Study materials:

Odom's Cisco Press certification guide
101 Labs for the CCNA Exam (kindle edition) - I can't say enough good things about this book. It was $9.99 on Amazon, and I have to say it was a great buy. Great labs that actually build upon concepts as you go. There is so much repetition with things, but that is the point. To pound it into your head. I used Packet Tracer with this since I don't have a hardware lab.
Cisco Packet Tracer - enough said. I'm in the Cisco Networking Academy through school.
Cisco Catalyst 2950 switch - I have one of these and used it for port security and basic setups. I couldn't do much with STP or anything. This was just fun to have and get some actual CLI experience.

That's it. I dedicated at least one hour every single day for studies no excuses. This includes weekends. I read so much my head is actually bigger from all the data in it. Sites like RouterGods, and RouterAlley also had great pdfs that I found great! I also have Anki on my smartphone for flash cards I had created for fun on the go.