Options

Question on the math behind Asymmetric Encryption

JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
So I'm studying Cryptology with Eric Conrad's book and I'm trying to understand that math behind Asymmetric Encryption. The subject areas are factoring prime numbers and also discrete logarithm, alot of theory and I just don't see how it applies right now.

Eric does a pretty good job on explaining stuff, however I'm was wondering if someone could break it down even further.
***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
-unknown

Comments

• Options
    da_vatoda_vato Member Posts: 445
    To obtain your answer I think you're going to have to find a comprehensive cryptography book because all of the security books I have read don't get that deep in the weeds. Even on the CISSP exam they don't ask that deep you will need to know which is accomplished through what means like:
    Eliptic curve is based on the algebraic structure of elliptic curves over finite fields

or

RSA is Based on difficulty of factoring a number which is the product of two large prime numbers

• Options
    TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hello,

Here is a SANs paper that goes into the math of Asymmetrical Cryptography:

http://www.giac.org/paper/gsec/2183/mathematical-underpinnings-asymmetric-cryptography/103707
  • Options
    uhclemuhclem Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Well it really depends on what level you want to understand this?
    Conceptual? Doing the math yourself? Writing your own code? Designing a new method?

The above SANS paper is pretty good overview.

There are articles that will explain the algorithms in more detail and books that will show how to write the code (big number arithmetic).