Frame-Relay Cloud Problem

FLEOHBFLEOHB Posts: 33Member ■■□□□□□□□□
########EDIT#######
after carefully going back over the videos and all the commands, I got it working

I am trying to get a frame-relay lab working. I am able to ping the hosts to the router but I am unable to ping from router to router, thats why I am thinking the problem is in the frame-relay cloud.

Here is the PT file:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fgnjnc1a156hrjg/Frame%20_Relay-problem.pkt

I have a feeling its a little detail I am missing, and any help would be wonderful ^_^

Comments

  • Mrock4Mrock4 Posts: 2,360Banned
    Any way you can post the relevant configs (frame-relay interfaces on your devices)? I understand we could get that from your packet tracer file, but unfortunately I don't have PT.
  • FLEOHBFLEOHB Posts: 33Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    I tried to follow danscourses on youtube

    R1-show run
    Current configuration : 927 bytes
    !
    version 12.4
    no service timestamps log datetime msec
    no service timestamps debug datetime msec
    no service password-encryption
    !
    hostname Router
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    spanning-tree mode pvst
    !
    !
    !
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/0
     ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
     duplex auto
     speed auto
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/1
     no ip address
     duplex auto
     speed auto
     shutdown
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0
     bandwidth 64
     no ip address
     encapsulation frame-relay
     ipv6 ospf cost 781
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0.102 point-to-point
     bandwidth 64
     ip address 10.0.1.1 255.255.255.0
     frame-relay interface-dlci 102
     clock rate 2000000
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0.103 point-to-point
     bandwidth 64
     ip address 10.0.3.2 255.255.255.0
     frame-relay interface-dlci 103
     clock rate 2000000
    !
    interface Vlan1
     no ip address
     shutdown
    !
    router rip
     network 10.0.0.0
     network 192.168.1.0
    !
    ip classless
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    line con 0
    line vty 0 4
     login
    !
    !
    !
    end
    

    -show frame-relay map
    Serial0/0/0.102 (up): point-to-point dlci, dlci 102, broadcast, status defined, active
    Serial0/0/0.103 (up): point-to-point dlci, dlci 103, broadcast, status defined, active
    

    R2-show run
    Current configuration : 854 bytes
    !
    version 12.4
    no service timestamps log datetime msec
    no service timestamps debug datetime msec
    no service password-encryption
    !
    hostname Router
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    spanning-tree mode pvst
    !
    !
    !
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/0
     ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.0
     duplex auto
     speed auto
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/1
     no ip address
     duplex auto
     speed auto
     shutdown
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0
     no ip address
     encapsulation frame-relay
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0.201 point-to-point
     bandwidth 64
     ip address 10.0.1.2 255.255.255.0
     frame-relay interface-dlci 201
     clock rate 2000000
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0.203 point-to-point
     bandwidth 64
     ip address 10.0.2.1 255.255.255.0
     frame-relay interface-dlci 203
     clock rate 2000000
    !
    interface Vlan1
     no ip address
     shutdown
    !
    router rip
    !
    ip classless
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    line con 0
    line vty 0 4
     login
    !
    !
    !
    end
    

    -show frame-relay map
    Serial0/0/0.201 (up): point-to-point dlci, dlci 201, broadcast, status defined, active
    Serial0/0/0.203 (up): point-to-point dlci, dlci 203, broadcast, status defined, active
    

    R3-show run
    Current configuration : 907 bytes
    !
    version 12.4
    no service timestamps log datetime msec
    no service timestamps debug datetime msec
    no service password-encryption
    !
    hostname Router
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    spanning-tree mode pvst
    !
    !
    !
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/0
     ip address 192.168.3.1 255.255.255.0
     duplex auto
     speed auto
    !
    interface FastEthernet0/1
     no ip address
     duplex auto
     speed auto
     shutdown
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0
     no ip address
     encapsulation frame-relay
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0.301 point-to-point
     bandwidth 301
     ip address 10.0.3.1 255.255.255.0
     frame-relay interface-dlci 301
     clock rate 2000000
    !
    interface Serial0/0/0.302 point-to-point
     bandwidth 64
     ip address 10.0.2.2 255.255.255.0
     frame-relay interface-dlci 302
     clock rate 2000000
    !
    interface Vlan1
     no ip address
     shutdown
    !
    router rip
     network 10.0.0.0
     network 192.168.3.0
    !
    ip classless
    !
    !
    !
    no cdp run
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    line con 0
    line vty 0 4
     login
    !
    !
    !
    end
    

    -show frame-relay map
    Serial0/0/0.301 (up): point-to-point dlci, dlci 301, broadcast, status defined, active
    Serial0/0/0.302 (up): point-to-point dlci, dlci 302, broadcast, status defined, active
    
  • dantepgdantepg Posts: 8Member ■□□□□□□□□□
    Aren't all routers connected to a frame relay cloud DTE? I've never intentionally done it so I don't know if it would be ignored or not, but what happens when you put clock rate in on the DTE side like you have in your config?

    This could be irrelevant to your issue though.
  • FLEOHBFLEOHB Posts: 33Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    PT will not let me input a clock rate on the DTE side, ty for the idea tho ^_^
  • Mrock4Mrock4 Posts: 2,360Banned
    Do a "Show frame pvc" on R1 and post it if you can
  • Mrock4Mrock4 Posts: 2,360Banned
    Just duplicated your topology in GNS3 and everything is working fine. Chalk another one up to PacketTracer weirdness..

    I strongly advise you, and anyone else using PT, to abandon it. It's caused so many issues similar to this.

    R1#ping 10.0.3.1

    Type escape sequence to abort.
    Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 10.0.3.1, timeout is 2 seconds:
    !!!!!
    Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 20/35/68 ms
    R1#ping 10.0.1.2

    Type escape sequence to abort.
    Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 10.0.1.2, timeout is 2 seconds:
    !!!!!
    Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/28/120 ms
    R1#
  • FLEOHBFLEOHB Posts: 33Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    R1-Show frame pvc
    Show frame pvc
    
    PVC Statistics for interface Serial0/0/0 (Frame Relay DTE)
    DLCI = 102, DLCI USAGE = LOCAL, PVC STATUS = ACTIVE, INTERFACE = Serial0/0/0.102
    
    input pkts 14055       output pkts 32795        in bytes 1096228
    out bytes 6216155      dropped pkts 0           in FECN pkts 0
    in BECN pkts 0         out FECN pkts 0          out BECN pkts 0
    in DE pkts 0           out DE pkts 0
    out bcast pkts 32795   out bcast bytes 6216155
    
    DLCI = 103, DLCI USAGE = LOCAL, PVC STATUS = ACTIVE, INTERFACE = Serial0/0/0.103
    
    input pkts 14055       output pkts 32795        in bytes 1096228
    out bytes 6216155      dropped pkts 0           in FECN pkts 0
    in BECN pkts 0         out FECN pkts 0          out BECN pkts 0
    in DE pkts 0           out DE pkts 0
    out bcast pkts 32795   out bcast bytes 6216155
    
  • DCDDCD Posts: 449Member
    @FLEOHB check you frame-relay cloud mapping and serial connections also R2 is not advertising the 10 network. Also clean up your labels.

    @Mrock4 if you got it to work on gns3 you should adandon that because all it is mis configuration in the frame cloud. Real equipment is the why to go.
  • Mrock4Mrock4 Posts: 2,360Banned
    DCD wrote: »
    @Mrock4 if you got it to work on gns3 you should adandon that because all it is mis configuration in the frame cloud. Real equipment is the why to go.

    Huh? I got it to work and verified the OP is experiencing issues with PT. What are you talking about?
  • DCDDCD Posts: 449Member
    FLEOHB has router 2 connected to serial 3 and router 3 connected to serial 2 on the frame-rely cloud the opposite of what they should be. Once he switches the serial interface connections and adds that network statement to router 2 he will be able to ping to all the end stations.
  • theodoxatheodoxa Posts: 1,340Member
    FLEOHB wrote: »
    PT will not let me input a clock rate on the DTE side, ty for the idea tho ^_^

    If you connect the DCE side to the Cloud, you don't have to set clock rate on anything.
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]
    Security: CCNA [ ]
    Virtualization: VCA-DCV [ ]
Sign In or Register to comment.