Options

Advice on choosing security path

ZoovashZoovash Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,I recently achieved CCNP and I’m thinking what to do next. I’m very interested in security and I want to pursue a career in InfoSec. At the moment I’m responsible for testing security features on L2 Switches with limited L3 capabilities. The experience in security is great but I don’t want to do QA for a long period of time, so I’m thinking what to do next in order to fulfill my dreams.I’ve already made plans for Security+ and Linux+ but I have no idea beyond that. I have some experience in C/C++ programming from high school and early college, although I haven’t written any piece of code for about 2 years, so I’m strongly considering PenTesting. On the other hand I’m also interested in the Security track from Cisco, I know that sooner or later I will get that CCNP Sec, and hopefully CCIE Sec by the time I’m 30 :) The problem is that lately I’ve been reading up on other technologies, like wireless and data center, and the Cisco Data Center track is getting very appealing to me.What do you think is a better combo, OSCP + CCNP Security or CCNP Security + Data Center ?Any advice is much appreciated!Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It sounds like you've got some great options anda great start, to me. Low-level programming certainly won't hurt you in pentesting, but a lot of pentesters operate almost entirely in interpreted functional languages. Python and Ruby are big. If you got anywhere with C and C++, they should be a piece of cake to pick up.

CCNP Sec won't hurt, and OSCP is really the pentesting cert to get. CISSP is also highly recommended, no matter what area of security most interests you.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,