Get ready to break your production systems: vSphere 5.5 available to download

jibbajabbajibbajabba Posts: 4,317Member ■■■■■■■■□□
Given VMWare's track record I'll wait for 5.5.1 but you can download the GA release now on vmware.com.
My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p

Comments

  • EssendonEssendon Posts: 4,548Member ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'll wait for 5.5.1 for production too, but off to download for my lab though!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

    Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Posts: 4,317Member ■■■■■■■■□□
    Now start downloading and update those test environments / labs!

    Very confident himself I guess ;)
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • kj0kj0 Posts: 767Member
    Still downloading vCenter iso (only been going an hour, and still 4 - 5 hours to go. - And our Government says 25Mbs will be more than enough for the next 10 years!)

    However, I've got the Hypervisor and blew away my old labs. Started installing and was hit with "Unable to install, 3.92Gb of memory is required." Wasn't expecting that. However, some adjustments and away we go.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: [URL]https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com [/URL]
  • blargoeblargoe Self-Described Huguenot NC, USAPosts: 4,170Member ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm downloading now. I'll be testing in my lab after I get a few things off my plate.
    IT guy since 12/00

    Recent: 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCSA 7, learning Ansible
    Future: RHCE? VCAP6.5-DCD?
  • cknapp78cknapp78 Posts: 213Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    jibbajabba wrote: »
    Given VMWare's track record I'll wait for 5.5.1 but you can download the GA release now on vmware.com.

    Ummm...crap :)

    Just what I need in the middle of a migration....engineers coming up and asking me if we should go to 5.5 since it is new and shiny. These are the same fanboys who upgraded to iOS 7 over the weekend and can't figure out why half their apps don't work anymore.

    There are days I just love and hate IT at the same time.

    Corey
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Posts: 4,317Member ■■■■■■■■□□
    We don't have the problem here as a lot of engineers here pulled all-nighter because of some dodgy bugs .. no one wants to go anywhere near 5.1 even ... Now customers however, they need 5.1 for 2012 VMs .. we will have to go down that route eventually :o
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • SlowhandSlowhand MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure, MCSA: Windows Server 2003/2012/2016, CCNA Routing & Switchi Bay Area, CaliforniaPosts: 5,163Mod Mod
    Hmm, I wonder if I'll be allowed to take the 5.5 exam after finishing up my current 5.1 class, or if I have to take one of those "What's New" classes after passing the 5.1 exam. . . (if there is even a difference, they might just update the existing exam and be done with it.)

    Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Virtual Academy
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top 50 PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

    Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • IT69IT69 Posts: 38Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    Slowhand wrote: »
    Hmm, I wonder if I'll be allowed to take the 5.5 exam after finishing up my current 5.1 class, or if I have to take one of those "What's New" classes after passing the 5.1 exam. . . (if there is even a difference, they might just update the existing exam and be done with it.)

    Currently finishing up the class requirement through Stanly on version 5.0, hopefully wont see a big change in the test before sitting the exam.
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Posts: 4,317Member ■■■■■■■■□□
    QHalo wrote: »

    Oh apologies, 5.1 from vCloud perspective, not hypervisor level. vCloud Director needs to be on 5.1.2 ...
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • sratakhinsratakhin Posts: 818Member
    I'm also worrying about having to study for 5.5. Just got an approval from boss to attend training :)
  • SimonD.SimonD. Posts: 111Member
    Until VMware come out and say that the VCP-DCV 5.5 is a new exam I am not expecting anything to cover 5.5 specifically, remember that this is a point release rather than a major upgrade (5.x rather than 6.x).

    The exam itself still pertains to common 5.x content and doesn't contain anything 5.1 specific.
    My Blog - http://www.everything-virtual.com
    vExpert 2012\2013\2014\2015
  • azjagazjag Posts: 579Member ■■■■■■■□□□
    Time to rebuild the test/dev environment. Hopefully they made the certificate/sso stuff easier to deal with.
    Currently Studying:
    VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 – Data Center Administration (VCAP5-DCA) (Passed)
    VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 – Data Center Design (VCAP5-DCD)
  • kj0kj0 Posts: 767Member
    Wow... Already run into a stack of issues and errors.

    One being that the vSphere client will not connect with any of the accounts, Local and domain. Continuing to get a list of errors - Will nut it it out.

    Also ran into this issue. However, I am unable to add the vcenter server that I am currently Web GUI'd into to be able to manage the permissions.
    vCenter Single Sign-On 5.5 Not Recognizing Nested Active Directory Groups | VMware vSphere Blog - VMware Blogs
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: [URL]https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com [/URL]
  • blargoeblargoe Self-Described Huguenot NC, USAPosts: 4,170Member ■■■■■■■■■□
    Fortunately I haven't encountered this, but there are active threads about this on VMTN.

    So apparently, using Free ESXi, you can update your VMs to version 10. But you can't manage/edit version 10 VMs without vCenter Web Client, which you can't get without buying vSphere...? WTF, VMware...
    IT guy since 12/00

    Recent: 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCSA 7, learning Ansible
    Future: RHCE? VCAP6.5-DCD?
  • QHaloQHalo Posts: 1,488Member
    WOW, sorry that's just hilarious.
  • jmritenourjmritenour Posts: 565Member
    Haven't got around to installing it yet, but for those that have, a question. I see ESXi 5.5 now requires 4GB of RAM as opposed to the usual 2GB that 4.x and 5.0/5.1 had. How much has the actual memory footprint increased, however? The reason I ask is because my current "lab" is nested in my laptop, and I've got only got 8GB of RAM to work with. But at least I can run 3 ESXi 5.1 nodes, a Windows VM running vCenter, and open filer for NAS/iSCSI. It's not great, but it's enough for labbing HA/DRS & testing PowerCLI scripts. If 5.5 uses significantly more memory, then that's really going to limit my options, and will make building a dedicated lab a higher priority than it was. In which case, does anyone have any tips for how I can convince my wife that this is money well spent? Just kidding... maybe...
    "Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible; suddenly, you are doing the impossible." - St. Francis of Assisi
  • kj0kj0 Posts: 767Member
    Also keep in mind that vcenter needs 4Gb as well.

    I've currently have my 3 hypervisors + a "Physical" vCenter (nested in Workstation, but not running as a VM in ESXi) = "Physical" DC 9only 2Gb for that one) + Openfiler. I have 16Gb and it's only hit just under 15gb at it's highest point so far. The ESXi VMs don't seem to be doing too much, but Load it up and see how much you can push it by.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: [URL]https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com [/URL]
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Posts: 4,317Member ■■■■■■■■□□
    kj0 wrote: »
    Also keep in mind that vcenter needs 4Gb as well.

    I've currently have my 3 hypervisors + a "Physical" vCenter (nested in Workstation, but not running as a VM in ESXi) = "Physical" DC 9only 2Gb for that one) + Openfiler. I have 16Gb and it's only hit just under 15gb at it's highest point so far. The ESXi VMs don't seem to be doing too much, but Load it up and see how much you can push it by.

    Already trying to shop for a cheap 32GB server ... 16GB is really at the edge ... You can save a bit by simply installing the iSCSI target on a windows box - DC or vCenter for example - so no need for openfiler - if a lab is all you need.

    At least you can use a small 128MB RAM VM running Linux if you need vmotion testing etc.
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Posts: 4,317Member ■■■■■■■■□□
    blargoe wrote: »
    Fortunately I haven't encountered this, but there are active threads about this on VMTN.

    So apparently, using Free ESXi, you can update your VMs to version 10. But you can't manage/edit version 10 VMs without vCenter Web Client, which you can't get without buying vSphere...? WTF, VMware...


    Errr ... ouch ? You cannot create a VM with more than 2TB either and manager it then via the c# client.
    My own knowledge base made public: http://open902.com :p
  • atorvenatorven Posts: 319Member
    Seeing as something will always break with every release, at what point do you decide to migrate over?
  • QHaloQHalo Posts: 1,488Member
    Never! Seriously, staying on 5.0U2 for the foreseeable future. That is until I get my UCS blades icon_twisted.gif
  • TheProfTheProf Posts: 331Users Awaiting Email Confirmation ■■■■□□□□□□
    atorven wrote: »
    Seeing as something will always break with every release, at what point do you decide to migrate over?

    Well when the new update is first released, it's advisable to wait a little while before upgrading your prod environment. During the waiting period if there are issues, they normally get fixed quickly and once U1 comes out, the release is pretty stable.
  • kj0kj0 Posts: 767Member
    We're still on 4.0 Only because our SANs aren't on the HCL for 5.x But everything is working and stable. However, We do require to upgrade all our Hosts and SANs at the start of next year due to our replacement schedule, so we will be looking at 5.1 minimum.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: [URL]https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com [/URL]
Sign In or Register to comment.