Options

Best certs for starting out?

TerrieTerrie Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm making a career switch (isn't everyone these days?) from librarianship to IT. I have a Masters in Library/Information Science and a JD. I am not interested going back to school -- while I've seen people on this forum complain about cert. exam costs, school is even more expensive in my experience. I'm currently studying for the A+, since it should help patch up the holes in what I've learned on my own as a librarian (which is a strange patchwork of odds and ends) and show I know at least the basics. From there, I figure I'll need to put in my time at something entry level, gaining experience while working on further certifications. Only, I'm not sure what certifications to go for next. It looks like Network+/Security+/CCENT are all fairly popular, but I prefer to focus on one thing at a time in studying, so which one to start with? I'm looking mainly for input from people who've been in the field a short while, or from people who do hiring. No offense to everyone else, but I've seen a lot of more experienced IT people dismissing some basic certifications as stuff "Everyone knows" and therefore worthless, but as someone who's done a lot of work with the public, I've seen college students who don't know how to add a printer, so I think it's worth showing that, yes, I know at least the theory.

Comments

• Options
    Navi+Navi+ Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Your question is similar to mine.
    Thread: http://www.techexams.net/forums/general-certification/93488-what-next-step-after-comptia-newbie-here-starting-career.html

Basically, most of the answers I got went something like this:

Start with A+, then compliment it with Network+ and Security+

The "CompTIA Trio", as it is called. That will get you started in the right direction.

From there, you can choose where to go, but at least you'll have the fundamentals (the "theory" as you said) under your belt.