Options

How do I know I'm prepared?

PCGamer5PCGamer5 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been studying for the Security+ Exam since August 2012.

I took the test in April and I scored a 678/900.

I have been studying through TrainSignal and its resources, as well as these two books:

CompTIA Security + All-in-One Exam Guide (Exam SY0-301), 3rd Edition with CD-ROM: Wm. Arthur Conklin, Gregory White, Dwayne Williams, Roger Davis, Chuck Cothren: 9780071771474: Amazon.com: Books

CompTIA Security+ SY0-301 Authorized Exam Cram (3rd Edition): Kirk Hausman, Martin Weiss, Diane Barrett: 9780789748294: Amazon.com: Books

I have taken the Practice Exams for the textbook CD and the two exams in the cram book, and, I have been scoring in the high-80s.

I do a little review over what I feel needs covering like XSS and XSRF attacks, and, PKCS #1-#15.

I have that feeling of certainty that I will pass this time because when I acquired my A+ and Network+ certificates, I was well-aware of the material.

The first time I took the Security+ Exam, I stumbled on a few questions that I could have gotten just by regular reviewing of my study material, and, without TrainSignal, Security+ wouldn't be very clear to me.

After I listened to all of the lectures and read the textbook, I feel confident; now, I am reviewing through the cram book trying to maintain the knowledge presented, and even covering parts that need brushing up.

I shouldn't let my anxiety get the best of me, and, I should take my tutor's advice and relax before the exam and be well-rested.

So, yes, if my heart and mind truly tell me I am well-prepared and I may very well pass the exam, as long as I keep reinforcing, will both of my feelings be right? Also, what should I do if I am nervous in the middle of my exam?

I'm retaking my exam on the 7th.

Comments

• Options
    DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    Good luck on the retake. You were close with a score of 678 so with your studying since then, you should do fine.