Options

Generally how long can you be out the field...

until your experience is no longer considered relevant?

I was a NOC lead operator for 6 years, but been out of the field the last 7 because of a move, and wasn't able to find another NOC job. Will employers take that experience into consideration, or would I be pretty much considered a newb?

Comments

• Options
    TechGuy215TechGuy215 Member Posts: 404 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would imagine your experience would still have some relevance. However, you have to realize that technology evolves so quickly, so what you were working with 7 years ago may not be as relavent as what's currently on the racks at DCs nowadays. I don't think you would be considered a noob, but if someone where to bring you on board, they may require that you pick up some new certs or complete some training to get back into the game.
    * Currently pursuing: PhD: Information Security and Information Assurance
    * Certifications: CISSP, CEH, CHFI, CCNA:Sec, CCNA:R&S, CWNA, ITILv3, VCA-DCV, LPIC-1, A+, Network+, Security+, Linux+, Project+, and many more...
    * Degrees: MSc: Cybersecurity and Information Assurance; BSc: Information Technology - Security; AAS: IT Network Systems Administration
  • Options
    RockinRobinRockinRobin Member Posts: 165
    I'm hoping to get back into a DC as an operator, help desk, or possibly Jr. network support role with an A+ and CCNA that I'm shooting for within a year. Glad to know my prior experience still could possibly work in my favor.

Thanks!
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It'll be weird explaining your situation but you should be able to get another position with it. I think some managers will hold it against you and other won't so much. Just get out there and start applying. Good luck!
  • Options
    --chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□