Database Fundamentals & 70-462

ClausIRLClausIRL Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello guys, I'm new to SQL but I'm interested in starting off, I started to study 98-364 Database Fundamentals & will then move on to 70-462 afterwards. I am currently taking notes from an online video study guide & will then do lots of practice tests, my aim is to take the exam in 2 months time. Can anyone confirm if this first fundamentals exam is very difficult ?

Comments

• paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Hello and welcome to TE. Unfortunately, difficulty is relative and will depend on your background. I personally have never taken the exam but I did just look at the objectives. And it looks relatively straightforward.
  • knownheroknownhero Member Posts: 450
    ClausIRL wrote: »
    Hello guys, I'm new to SQL but I'm interested in starting off, I started to study 98-364 Database Fundamentals & will then move on to 70-462 afterwards. I am currently taking notes from an online video study guide & will then do lots of practice tests, my aim is to take the exam in 2 months time. Can anyone confirm if this first fundamentals exam is very difficult ?

Hi ClausIRL,

Welcome to TE. First off let me tell you I'm new to SQL myself. I've passed the 70-461 a few months back and have started the on and off process of study for 70-462.

Coming from a server admin background I find the 462 rather easy to understand when it comes to certain parts, such as backups, user security, Always on with clustering, mirroring and installing the product.

If I didn't have that background knowledge... Yes it would be harder as its all new.

As for your database fundamentals course. I'm not sure what they would teach you? Maybe table structure, relationships, PK, FK, Stored Proc, views? You will learn all that with the 70-461 exam.