Options

Masters in the military

jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hi there,

I'm thinking about joining the Navy. I have my four year degree and I was talking with a recruiter about it. Has anyone had trouble working on their masters or bachelor's while in the military? I would like to have the best chance on completing my masters and I'm not really sure if I should apply now or just work a regular job while completing my masters.
Booya!!
WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
*****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****

Comments

• Options
    Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
    From my experience in the Canadian military, I would complete my degree working a regular job. In the military, especially if you are in a combat ready deployment unit, you have no control over your working hours. I would be gone deployed 9 months per year all over Canada and other parts of the world. I was required to work sometimes 2-3 days without sleeping. Usually 16-18 hour days when I did get to sleep. Then we would come back and do absolutely nothing for 2-3 weeks preparing for the next exercise and deployment. I found studying for other things then my job almost impossible. Of course, military experience varies per individual. I know some people (usually the sh!t pumps) that would stay at the unit and they never got deployed. They had normal working hours and some even had part-time jobs. You have to understand that even without studying, for most people, the military will be hard.
    Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271