Options

Looking for advice on making the switch from working for DOD to private sector

zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all,

I am looking for advice on making the switch from working for DOD to working in the private sector. I was active duty Air Force from 2008-2012 and for the last almost two years now I have been working as a contractor for DOD/Navy.

I am looking to relocate from VA to NY to be near family and will most likely be looking to move to Upstate NY (Seems to be small job market for IT and lower pay) or NYC as an alternative if I can't find anything comparable to what I make now in VA.

I have about 6 yrs of experience as a Sys Admin, and in various roles, configuration management, backup admin, IA Engineer, etc. I have my BS in IT Systems and I am currently pursuing my MBA with a concentration in Information System Management as well. I have my - MCITP: SA, Sec+, Net+, MCSA, and Win 7 certifications and I have been relentlessly studying to test for my CISSP in December as well.

I am just looking for advice from going to DOD work to the private sector and how to go about making the switch, finding comparable pay and opportunities etc. I also hold a TS/SCI clearance and that's one thing that will suck to not utilize in making the change to the private sector as well, since I know it opens a lot of doors to DOD opportunities.

Thanks to anyone for any insight or advice!

Comments

• Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Look for a position with a company that contracts to the DoD. You might be surprised at the different places they are located. You might find one close by. Also, if you will be near West Point, you might find a job there. Also, many state government IT jobs would look favorably on you for having a TS clearance (think Department of Revenue). Lastly, I am sure with your degree, experience, clearance, and certs, you will not have a difficult time finding a job. Good luck.