Options

New to Cisco and need lab setup but not sure what to get and where.

Acknowledged74Acknowledged74 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I am new to Cisco and just started CCNA course (including CCENT). I very much want a basic setup at home so I can learn hands on to experience console session and to configure switched and router myself rather than just through the packet tracer.

I'm looking at ebay and there are routers and particularly switch for next to nothing, but to be completely honest I dont know what I am buying. I've come across

CISCO Lab CCNA CCNP CCIE (Router Switch 1760 DB60 CISCO 2950 ) | eBay

and to get me going will this be sufficient?

I can spend alot less than this but I could also spend several hundred easy.

Some advice would be much appreciated.

Regards

Ashley

---

Comments

• Options
    Actually having looked further something like

[FONT=&quot]CISCO2600 Series [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]2 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]CISCO2514 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]1 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]WS-C2950-12 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]1 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]WIC-1t [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]2 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Kettle leads [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]4 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Ethernet Straight [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]2 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Console Cable [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]1 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]CAB-HD60-MMX-3 [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]2 [/FONT]

Might be more the ticket ?

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]

• Options
    MagmadragoonMagmadragoon Member Posts: 172 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I just started too with studying for CCENT. The setup I have it 2 Cisco 2610 routers with WIC-1T and 2 Cisco 2950 switch boxes. I can find that equipment for $20 a piece on ebay anyday. You might want to invest in a usb to serial cable if you are using newer computer to access the equipment. Just avoid the cheap ebay ones and invest in a trendnet cable they sell at Staples for $10.
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□