WGU -- MS: ISA vs MS: NM

srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
Just wanted to get some opinions on this matter. I should be completing the BS: ND&M degree in my 2nd term, looking to graduate in early 2014. Hopefully by March or April. I'm wanting to immediately begin one of the MS programs upon completing the BS degree. I've been going back and forth between the MS: ISA and the MS: NM trying to decide which would be a better fit for me. My tuition is being completely paid for, so I would be stupid not to pursue an MS under these circumstances.

The problem is, I'm not really interested in information security or network management. I chose the BS: Network Design & Management program because it seemed to be the most Microsoft-centric option, and I am currently a Systems Administrator working in a VMware environment with Microsoft OS running on our guest VMs. I'm wanting to continue pursing Microsoft certifications (working on MCITP: Enterprise Administrator & MCSA: 2008 right now) and VMware certs. Would like to eventually learn Linux as well.

So what I'm basically wanting is to obtain a Masters of Science in Information Technology to add to my resume. Someone on the forums suggested that I go the MS: ISA route because it is more technical, whereas the MS: NM is more procedural. Going the technical route makes more sense to me, however I'm wondering how difficult a masters program in Infosec would be for me if I don't have a background in Infosec, or frankly, don't have very much interest in Infosec. Not worried about not being able to complete either program. Either way I'll get it done. Just don't want to struggle or be bored to tears in the process. :p

I wish WGU had more options for masters programs.

Thoughts?
WGU Progress: Master of Science - Information Technology Management (Start Date: February 1, 2015)
Completed: LYT2, TFT2, JIT2, MCT2, LZT2, SJT2 (17 CU's)
Required: FXT2, MAT2, MBT2, C391, C392 (13 CU's)