Options

Virtualization software to use for labs

SteveFerSteveFer Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just wondering if anyone has any recommendations for software to use for 70-680 labs, I have W8 core(which doesnt include Hyper-v), I can upgrade to Pro for $80 to get this, I know I can get VMWare Player for free which will do a similar/same job, some job postings I see say must have experience with Hyper -V(I have no experience setting up virtual machines at the moment) would the setting up of machines in H-V get me that much more experience that I could take into employment, or say in an interview that I've experience in H-V on a home lab that it might suffice, or is there very little difference between both that it wouldn't be that beneficial? I don't mind paying the money atall if I thaught it would benefit me in the long run. Are there any features in either that would benefit setting up a home lab?

Comments

• Options
    ShdwmageShdwmage Member Posts: 374
    Good Afternoon,
    Most workplaces I know don't use Hyper-V to virtualize their machines, they use VMWare.
    What are the stats on your computer? Is it even capable of support virtualization?
    --
    “Hey! Listen!” ~ Navi
    2013: [x] MCTS 70-680
    2014: [x] 22-801 [x] 22-802 [x] CIW Web Foundation Associate
    2015 Goals: [] 70-410
  • Options
    Shdwmage wrote: »
    Good Afternoon,
    Most workplaces I know don't use Hyper-V to virtualize their machines, they use VMWare.
    What are the stats on your computer? Is it even capable of support virtualization?

Yeah, thats what I thaught, its just that I saw it on some job specs. It should be fine, its an i7 , 8GB RAM laptop
  • Options
    I believe windows 8 limits you to 2 hyper-v machines. It should work, but I would do a desktop for the servers if you have one available. Of course testing branch cache and direct access can be kind of a pain in the behind.
    --
    “Hey! Listen!” ~ Navi
  • Options