Options

Interviewing for a Network Engineer Position % 100 Travel

bugzy3188bugzy3188 Member Posts: 213 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I landed an interview this week for a network engineer position. I have been studying for my CCNA for a few months now which helped quite a bit. The position requires that I attend cisco training in their lab, this is unpaid and would require me to quit my current job for the alotted 2 to 3 months of training and take something overnight or part time as 25 to 30 hours a week is required.

I was I formed in the phone interview that this position requires up to % 100 travel with contracts lasting up to 6 months anywhere in the us. They would pay for lodging, transportation, per diem, and flights back home every other weekend. This is a very exciting prospect for me but is a bit nerrve wracking as well. Obviously similar positions differ with the employer but I'd like to hear if anyone else has expirience in a similar position, what were the amenities like? (lodging, transportation, etc.) did you enjoy the travel? Any insight on experiences in a similar position would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!
If you havin frame problems I feel bad for you son, I got 99 problems but a switch ain't one

Comments

• Options
    ratbuddyratbuddy Member Posts: 665
    You lost me at 2-3 months of unpaid training.
  • Options
    TheProfTheProf Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 331 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sounds like an interesting opportunity and the travel aspect of the job really depends on the individual. Personally I've traveled for work many times in the past, even going to different countries for a few weeks at a time. It can be fun, interesting, something new, however at the same time I can see it getting harder the longer you do it. You're always waiting for flights or driving from state to state, living in hotel rooms, etc.