Options

Storage Design Based On Application Requirements and Disk Performance

Varez ITVarez IT Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for the EMCISA certification and my study guide is Information Storage and Management Second Edition. I'm currently reading through section 2.10 "Storage Design Based On Application Requirements and Disk Performance" and I have some questions but before asking the questions please allow me to provide some context.

The study guide states that the Disk Service Time is Ts = T + L + X (where T = average seek time in milliseconds, L = rotational latency and X = internal transfer rate). I quote "40 MB/s internal data transfer rate, from which the internal transfer rate time (X) is derived on the block size of the I/O - for example, an I/O with a block size of 32 KB; therefore X = 32 KB/40 MB. Consequently, the time take by the I/O controller to serve an I/O of block size 32 KB is (Ts) = 5 ms + (0.5/250) + 32 KB/40 MB = 7.8 ms."

I understand how to arrive at the average seek time (T) as well as the rotational latency (L) but I am confused by the internal transfer rate (X).

Why is the author using 40 MB? Also, what is the answer to 32 KB/40 MB?

Again, I understand the average seek time (T) as well as the rotational latency (L) but I can't seem to understand how to arrive at the internal transfer rate (X) and get an answer of 7.8 ms.

Any help is much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    TheProfTheProf Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 331 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I know what you mean, I was also a bit confused, but I was able to find a site that gave pretty good explanation which I linked below.