Options

Buying a Home Lab. Need advise on what I am looking at

mgmguy1mgmguy1 Member Posts: 485 ■■■■□□□□□□
I am buying my own home lab because I am getting frustrated with the limitations of Packet Tracer and not being able to do all the commands.
Plus as I keep reading and also being told by friends that if I am going to progress in my cisco studies i need to get some real equipment.

My concern is what vendor to choose to buy the equipment I have a Budget of $700.00 dollars and I want to make sure I get the best bang for my buck.
Here are two links to equipment from two different vendors that I am considering buying.

The CCNA Enhanced - Cisco 200-120 Certification Complete Study Lab Kit with CCENT - Includes Training & Support

cisco ccnp home lab

Please tell me what you think about the equipment links. I am building a Lab for the future here.

I am studying for my CCENT and once I pass that I am going for my CCNA. CCNP or CCNA Security after that.

Please advise.

mgmguy1
"A lot of fellows nowadays have a B.A., M.D., or Ph.D. Unfortunately, they don't have a J.O.B."

Fats Domino

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I bought my first equipment from the second link. Everything came as described. I am now starting to look at eBay for more and better equipment. I did a small order to get started but i knew i planned to expand my lab as i progress.

if you have time i would start with gns3 and buy individual items on eBay. If you are in a hurry then i say go for a kit. Understand that with a kit you pay for convenience not quality. It will cost you more. Do not shop kits in search of bargains just use them if you really want a lab to work with next week.

i dont work with the equipment enough yet to give an opinion on the best purchase.
  • Options
    rowelldrowelld Member Posts: 176
    I would suggest getting the following:

2x - 3560
    2x - 2950 or 2960

That should get you by the CCNP. Routing can be done on GNS3.