Options

The Road to the VCP5-DCV

Corndork2Corndork2 Member Posts: 266
Hello Everyone!

I am currently on my study path to gain the VCP5-DCV credential. I thought I would finally take the time to document one of my certification processes on Tech Exams as the forum has always been of great help to me. Its definitely time I gave back.

I have approximately 5 years of experience in the IT world. I currently hold active certifications from Brocade, Cisco, CompTIA, CWNP, Juniper, Mikrotik, and Rackspace. I have recently moved into a position that relies heavily on a vCenter environment. Thus, it is time that I stand up some VMware knowledge!

I have been going through the VCA series and have the VCA-DV.

I began day 1 of the VMware vSphere: Install, Configure, Manage Classroom course today.

More to follow after the end of day 1!
Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU

Comments

• Options
    googolgoogol Member Posts: 107
    Good luck and I definitely recommend the Mastering vSphere book if you do not have it already.
  • Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You'll do just fine, use the Mastering book like googol said and put in a lot of lab time. Good luck!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    Well the first day is done. The first day was relatively simple. ESXi installation, vCenter installation, Active Directory joins, etc. Really just the basic server setup. I have a lab at home so this part wasn't too bad as most of it I had done before.

Day 2 is all Virtual Networking and SAN Technologies! This should be fun!
    Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
  • Options