Options

Thoughts on job offer

zxbanezxbane Member Posts: 740 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all,

I currently work as a Sys Admin/IA Engineer in the Hampton Roads area of VA and I passed my CISSP back in October. I have about 6 years of IT/IA experience 4 of which were in the Air Force. I got offered a job yesterday in Indian Head, MD as a Princicapl Sys Ad/Assistant IAM. The job comes with a pretty nice pay bump plus gets me and the fiance' 4 hours closer to our families (expecting our first child any day now).

I think it sounds like a great opportunity because of the pay, proximity to family and the experience in an assistant management role, plus a side perk would be the increased BAH rate from the 9/11 G.I. bill. I'm currently pursuing my MBA with a concentration in Info Sys Management. The BAH rate for the area I would be taking night classes in (Alexandria) is 2,175 a month. So this position would give me management experience to couple with the management degree as well.

Basically I am curious if anyone lives or works in that area. The job is in Indian Head but they said most people who work there live in La Plata or Waldorf. Anyone in those areas or could give insight into them? I heard they aren't quite as crowded as Alexandria, DC etc but are close enough to still go into the city if you wanted for the day.

Thanks anyone for any insight and I am excited about this great opportunity, never would of passed my CISSP without the help of the people on this site!

Comments

• Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    I just wanted to say nice job on the CISSP and on the offer.

I however have no insight into the area as I've only lived in Indiana Illinois and South Carolina :-/
  • Options
    Kohr-ah,