Options

Degree Or Self Study?

JamesITJamesIT Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I'm just wondering what the best way to get into infosec would be? I made a thread on here previously and got some good advice on certs I could do and I've decided on this path:

eCCPT Gold (Student & Pro Course) (Studying for this atm)
GCIH
OSCP
GXPN
OCSE
GWAPT

However after speaking to a friend who does security he recommended I did a degree in computer science, But I am not too sure as I'd need to quit my job I have at the moment to go and do that. Is this the ideal path? Or is self study a better option and doing the certs?

Thanks,
James
2014 Cert Goals: eCCPT (DONE), BSc Hons Ethical Hacking (In Progress)
2015 Cert Goals: CompTIA Security+ (Done), DVLA Driving License, Security Tube Python Expert

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Do you have a degree?
  • Options
    Do you have a degree?

No I don't, Thats what I'm asking should I do a degree in Computer Science and then do the certs maybe? or go down self study method and do the certs that way?

I'm not sure :s

Thanks
    2015 Cert Goals: CompTIA Security+ (Done), DVLA Driving License, Security Tube Python Expert
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Okay. I have to ask because I'm amazed by how many people feel the need to get a degree in CS or IT because their bachelor degree in another area. I don't think getting a BS in CS is a bad idea at all. It looks like you're interested in pen testing and it's a good idea to have a foundation in programming.
  • Options
    Oh I see, I'm going to speak to a few universitys tommorow when they are open and see what they offer. Most likely going to study in Scotland as its cheaper.

They also do a BSC Hons in Ethical Hacking, Looks interesting Ethical Hacking | University of Abertay Dundee

Thanks for the advice.
  • Options
    brownwrapbrownwrap Member Posts: 549