Recent College Grad, Seeking Help

gilly225gilly225 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated In May of 2013 with a degree in Business Management, however I find myself wanting to get into the I.T. field. I was a CS major up until my second semester junior year where I decided to get away from programming. Today I am seeking a job such as a Help Desk Technician. I am very experienced with troubleshooting computers and have built multiple systems from scratch. I recently went out and got my A+ Cert and am now studying multiple hours a day to receive my Security +.

The problem I am seeing is that I will receive an interview based on my resume and nothing will make of it. I receive calls daily however they usually end up with "Were looking for someone with more experience or a particular skill-set such a Linux experience". I'm not sure if it's my resume, the way I communicate, my credentials or what. A problem that it could also be is that I live in D.C. area and it is VERY competitive. I find it difficult to somewhat prove to the recruiter that I do actually know my way inside and out of a computer.

I am seeking any and all types of assistance. I planned on uploading my Resume through an attachment however it will not except any of the file types I tried.

Thanks

Comments

• XyroXyro Member Posts: 623
    I would not think it could be your resume. Afterall, they are contacting you based on what they are seeing on your resume. Your credentials should also be on your resume, so it is also not likely to be because of your credentials. Your job experience should prove that you know your "way inside and out of a computer"; therefore, it is apparent to me that something is going wrong in the interview process because it is at this stage that it is failing.
  • AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938