Options

Do i need a switch here?

michielstmichielst Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone

I'm a beginner in networking, so this might be a stupid question.

4afbd5d2be934cc56a452dc181231146.png

Do i need a switch to connect PC0/PC1 and the printer0 to the wireless router0.

Also is it possible to connect the Printer1 only to PC0?

I look forward to your reply.
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Depends on the router and if it has an integrated switch or enough ports to support the hosts. Usually you would go with a switch there though, integrated or not.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    Okay, what about the printer? Can't seem to connect the printer to the pc0 when it's connected to the switch.
  • Options
    DirtySouthDirtySouth Member Posts: 314 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Best practice would be yes so that you have the flexibility of adding more devices without having to mess with your router. As far as connecting the printer to the PC that's going to come down to what type of printer it is.
  • Options
    Magic JohnsonMagic Johnson Member Posts: 414
    michielst wrote: »
    Okay, what about the printer? Can't seem to connect the printer to the pc0 when it's connected to the switch.

Is this in packet tracer you are on about or in real life?
  • Options
    Is this in packet tracer you are on about or in real life?
    Packet tracer
  • Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Since it's only packet tracer, then I wouldn't really worry about configuring it. In the real world, mostly all printers are networked through an ethernet connection with a static IP.
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    michielst wrote: »
    Packet tracer

I don't think it would let you in PT, but in real life you could certainly attach it to a PC and share it.
  • Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□