Options

CCNA Starter Help

cegha0004cegha0004 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, New to the forums because i'm interested in getting a CCNA. I have a few questions that I could use some help with.

To start with, I am 24 years old. I have always had an interest in computers. The first computer(s) I remember playing with were Pentium 1s with like only a few hundred mhz speed with Windows 95. I always wanted a career with computers, but just couldn't figure out what. Over the last few years I have developed a fascination with the networking aspect of computers. Currently I have a pfSense machine serving as a router that i've been playing with for the past 3 years or so. I love to play with the software to see how networks work.

I have done lots of work with it such as setting up IPv4 subnets with multiple switches present (small consumer grade), configuring IPv6 via IPv4 tunneling, setup of IPS/IDS via snort, configuring NAT, & managing of firewall rules, to name a few. I also run a Windows 2008 server box which runs a few game servers such as Bnet game servers, Teamspeak 3 VOIP server, web server, file server, etc. I've also played with ubuntu server & doing some command line work on that. So I do have some kind of background in networking.

I am interested in looking to get a start at a job in computer networking, I guess it would be called. The CCNA looks like a good place to start. I really hate schools & classes. I do not like to listen to people talk nonstop. I can not tolerate it. With that said, I have read about how everything works. I am interested in self studying via books & hardware/equipment. Since I have some networking background I feel I would be able to do the single test route.

I have a few random questions though that I would like answers on.

How likely/easily is it to get a beginning job in computer networking with only a CCNA cert? I have no college degree. Would you really need a college degree in addition to certs to get a job?