Options

Resume review needed - CCNA working on CCNP

Cat5Cat5 Member Posts: 297 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm looking for a better job that pays more - and has benefits. I only make just over $40k/yr and I'm rolling contract. I just started studying for my CCNP, also. And I have five years of real-world networking experience. I don't understand why almost no one is contacting me. Thanks for any review.

Comments

• Options
    olaHaloolaHalo Member Posts: 748 ■■■■□□□□□□
    As was explained to me recently: adjust the margins!
    You can fit so much more and take up that negative space very easily.

Also Id remove the personal info and upload it generic for this site.
    Make sure you are posting it weekly to all the job sites and consider having a recruiter help.
  • Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    Cat5 wrote: »
    I'm looking for a better job that pays more - and has benefits. I only make just over $40k/yr and I'm rolling contract. I just started studying for my CCNP, also. And I have five years of real-world networking experience. I don't understand why almost no one is contacting me. Thanks for any review.

***First thing first, remove your resume and the personal info at the top make it generic and repost on here :P

Now. I am on a phone so excuse me if formatting is a bit off. I figure since you are going for your CCNP you want more of a pure networking job.

Professional Summary - Remove the bullet points and format it so it is more of a statement. You are telling who you are.

Windows 2000, ME, 98 <-- They are old dead technology
    Remove them

SecureCRT really isn't advanced software, remove it.

Graduated Cisco netacad in Florida. While the GPA is nice, it isn't current as you recertified which is more important.
    Also I would reorder it CCNA, SEC+, Bachelors.

As for your experience, I would say you could make it more specific.
    Engage in extensive troubleshooting with both software and hardware issues <-- such as?