Options

Confused about VMWare Course help?

doodguydoodguy Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I'm currently studying scott lowe mastering vsphere 5.5, and I understand I need to go through Pearson Vue when ready to test, but I also Need to take some sort of "approved course"

I emailed VMWare and got some reply offering courses in the $1000 range!?!?

Is that my only option to get VCP certified?

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Yes, the only way to be certified is to sit through the course. BUT, there are places that do it for much less than that. There's a whole gamut of threads in the Virtualization forum on here with people discussing various options. Have a squiz through them, though briefly I can tell you that Stanly.edu do the course for about $280, online, but there's a waiting list. If you put yourself on the waiting list today, you may get into the one they'll have mid year. Oh and you can take the course or the test first, but you only become a VCP when you've done both. It may make sense to do the course first to get a feel for things if you don't work with vSphere on a daily basis. Hope this helps.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    SimonD.SimonD. Member Posts: 111
    There was talk that you had to be pre-confirmed before booking the VCP now (and I actually thought that was a requirement when booking the exam but I could be wrong).

Go for an Academy if you can't get work to cover the cost, they are cheaper but obviously take a lot longer.
    My Blog - http://www.everything-virtual.com
    vExpert 2012\2013\2014\2015
  • Options
    petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510