Options

College degree versus certification

RickWRickW Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
As far as a mid-level security position - Information Security Officer, Security Analyst, Security Auditor, etc. - what do you think employer's value more?

- Someone with a bachelor's degree
- Someone with a CISSP and CISM/CISA

I have an Associate's degree, and am working on the CISM and CISSP now. It will be another 1 1/2 years minimum before I complete a Bachelor's degree.

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    In most cases, a stand-alone degree and a stand-alone cert will be considered weak. Employers are asking a lot these days, and having a bachelor's degree is your foundation. Basically, it proves to them you can finish a major project, (words taken from a CEO I ran into at the Visual Studio 2005 launch event in San Francisco.) The certifications are, (and are supposed to be,) suppliments, showing that you're current on a specific technology or topic.

True, in most cases, employers will probably go for someone with a CISSP and no degree, rather than a fresh-off-the-line undergraduate. This is usually because you have the experience with the CISSP, whereas a college graduate has only "mere" education. Just keep in mind, a lot of security jobs require a broad base of knowledge, and employers will be looking for someone with a bachelor's and certifications. They want education and they want experience, the market's a tough place. And, in truth, college graduates can demand higher salaries once they have the cert, not to mention are probably a little more likely to advance within their company.

(Then again, each situation is different. I take the "don't take chances, get everything" approach.)

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options