Value of a MS from WGU?

boyishcharmboyishcharm Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, I was thinking of doing the WGU B.S. in IT and, basically immediately following it up with a MS in either IT/IS or both.
For those of you who might have some input, do you feel the MS is worth pursuing? My logic is basically that I think having a MS stands out WAY more than having a BS and could help me get in at a higher position/pay grade (I worked in IT for about 4 years but haven't been working for the past year after getting burnt out with low-level tech support stuff. I'm also assuming having a MS would get me past any kind of entry level support stuff into a more desktop supervisor/network supervisor role, where I am assuming the work is much more engaging and thought-provoking than answering the asinine questions that entry/tier1/tier2 would receive.

thanks

Comments

• MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm finishing up my B.S. in Security at WGU in about 4-5 months. I'm planning on going straight through to the M.S. ISA. Although I think it may not be as "elite" as a B&M, I'd really like to get Stanford's Certificate of Advanced Computer Security which would hopefully outweigh any negative connotations the online degree may hold. In my mind, if someone has the experience, certifications, and the degree, the school at which the degree was obtained will matter little.
  • eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
    MSP-IT wrote: »
    I'm finishing up my B.S. in Security at WGU in about 4-5 months. I'm planning on going straight through to the M.S. ISA. Although I think it may not be as "elite" as a B&M, I'd really like to get Stanford's Certificate of Advanced Computer Security which would hopefully outweigh any negative connotations the online degree may hold. In my mind, if someone has the experience, certifications, and the degree, the school at which the degree was obtained will matter little.