Options

Cisco Certifications useless?

Mak0811Mak0811 Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I need some advice on what to do. I have a 3 year degree in Computer Sciences, 2 years working in the IT field as a Junior IT Consultant at a Computer retailer. Working generally to set up new switches for small to medium size companies.

Having moved to Norway 2 years ago, i really found it hard to get a job.

Having a bit of time on my hand and learning the local language i thought i would update my education by getting certified aswell.

I started off by getting a CCNA and aimed at getting an entry level job in the market. Tried hard for 6 months but got absolutely nothing. Had a couple of interviews but all the technical people who i met suggested CCNA doesnt hold the same value it used to and even for entry level jobs you need more than a CCNA.

So i chose the CCNA voice and got that after spending a lot of time and money on it.

6 months running around with that and still nothing. You must have a ''CCNP'' said a few of the people i spoke to working in ISP's. They said CCNP has become an entry level cert for the networking market.

2 years down the road i have a

CCNA Routing & Switching
CCNA Voice
CCDA
CCNP Routing & Switching
CCDP ( Thinking of taking it )

Yet i cannot even get an entry level job!

All the feedback i have ever got is we found somone with more experience than you. Where can i get experience for an entry level job?

Deeply frustrated and am thinking ive wasted a lot of money and time.

Can anyone suggest anything?

Many thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    fredrikjjfredrikjj Member Posts: 879