Missed breakfast, got a pass.

SkeyeLlamaSkeyeLlama Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've had CISSP on my professional to-do list for about 18 months, but college and other certs has delayed it until now.

After finishing out the fall term in December at a local college, I set out to get the CISSP done before my transfer to WGU was complete (4 days ago).

My background is 12 years in Point of Sale IT as a jack-of-all-trades handling all aspects of IT systems.

My original resource was just the Shon Harris book, then I nabbed that $1 Eric Conrad CISSP Study Guide 2nd Ed. deal from Elsevier a few months back. I also subscribed to the CCCURE questions.

I got my books in PDF format and carried them on a tablet and my smartphone for quick access when I had a few moments to study. I also acquired the ezPDF reader application for android which allowed me to have the books read back in the car for increased study opportunity.

I took a 250 question 10 domain baseline test with CCCure on 12/20 and scored at 71.6%. Interestingly, it appears 9 of those 250 questions have been "retired" since then, potentially indicating a high turnover in the CCCure test bank.
65%(35 of 54)Access Control
78%(54 of 69)Telecommunications and Network Security
100%(14 of 14)Information Security Governance and Risk Management
47%(8 of 17)Software Development Security
81%(26 of 32)Cryptography
55%(16 of 29)Security Architecture and Design
63%(10 of 16)Operations Security
80%(8 of 10)BCP and DRP
81%(13 of 16)Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance
83%(5 of 6)Physical (Environmental) Security

I started out on the Conrad book because it was half the size, and therefore half the effort to squeeze in. I did about 80% of this book using text-to-speech read back in my car via ezPDF.

After completing the Conrad book I took another 250 question test on 01/01 and scored a 76%. Hardly the improvement I'd hoped for.
77%(23 of 30)Access Control