Options

Value of CCNA in market

ms_visioms_visio Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey folks

I am a guy from sydney, australia and i passed CCNA almost 2 months ago and also doing a bachelor's degree in IT(final year) with my submajor internetworking (of course!).

I would like ask for some expert comments from you guys about the value of CCNA in the market. I certainly know that i will get a slight advantage over my fellow class mates who dont have it (thats obvious) apart from that i would appreciate any expert comments.I have no previous IT experience so what effect do you guys think CCNA will have on my starting job and job search etc.

The other day i was speaking to a guy who worked in a call centre somewhere( and i dont think if he has got any good qualifications or any certificate even) and i was talking abt CCNA .. and i got a reply -> "CCNA huh that 1 month certificate, any one can pass it in one month" . Personally i think that response was really unexpected but may be he said that coz he got NO clue what CCNA is about and is totally idiot or i am misinterpriting things. But overall i worked very hard to achieve this certificate and i felt really annoyed after hearing this stupid comment!

what do u folks say... ??
:study:

Comments

• Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    To be honest i see where the guys is coming from.The CCNA cert doesnt hold much respect in industry.It's good as a starting point though.I myself wont put CCNA on my resume.The CCNP however is respected as you must think and understand more in these exams.
    I think the main problem with the CCNA is before all the simulation stuff came in you could get this exam by studying and learning off by heart within 3 to 4 weeks.It's become a more difficult exam now but it still has a
    bad rap from the earlier exams.
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options
    darkuserdarkuser Member Posts: 620 ■■■□□□□□□□