Options

Confusion regarding network appliances

rhtrht Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys i am studying for network+ but i am confused regarding the difference between each of the following network appliances:

1.Content filters
2.Content switches (what layer do they work at 2,3 or 7)?
3.Proxy filters

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Welcome,

What tools do you have to assist you in your studies? Have you worked with any of the above on a live network? Asking because if you have some experience to pull from, you will understand the answers provided a bit better. Additionally, I (and others) can give you examples of some of these devices as used in a live environment.

Ex. Barracuda has a device that works as a content filter (i.e. 'information filter') however, IIRC they also have a device that can handle two or three of your points. Been a while since I've used Barracuda, but we had a few clients interested in their stuff when they first got going and eventually we/they changed out of that product line into other options. So, what types of things are you familiar with?
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • Options
    actually i have no experience in IT yet but i am hoping this will change soon...anyway i am familiar with client side and server proxies, i also read about security network appliances that combine stuff like antivirus, spyware, anti phishing, spam and also provide URL filtering. So my question is how do all the above fit together? are they hardware or software or terms that describe both? i am confused really :P

excuse my English, i hope i am making sense :)
  • Options